And then there was one…

One more Harry Potter movie, that is. And just as I have for the previous seven films (not to mention before each book came out) I am going to perform a very specific ritual before July 15. This ritual can take as long as a month and has been completed in less than a week. In short, I am going to be re-reading all seven Potter books as well as watching all seven films before the final film is released at 12:01 a.m. on July 15.

Some might say this is a superfluous and time-wasting activity. But for me, it is a necessary ritual in order to be able to fully enjoy the final film. By reading the books again I am reminded of how much these characters have meant to me ever since I first learned of the boy with the lightening scar over 12 years ago. I mean, I’ve stayed friends with Harry, Ron and Hermione longer than I have with actual people. Judge me if you will, but these books are and always will be a part of my life.

So I encourage everyone to pick up the Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and get to reading. Not only will you be able to more fully incorporate yourself into the world one last time, but you will be reminded of plot points that at the time seemed trivial but are crucial to the finale (hello Albania? the warlock statue in the Room of Requirement?) and of the important part each and every character has played in Harry’s life (sob Dobby sob).

And in honor of this being the last time I’ll perform this ritual I’ll be blogging my reaction to each book as I read it. Some might see this as taking an obsession to a very public level, but I like to think of it as a show of respect to a series that has had such an impact on my life. And so, all together now, “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” Happy reading!

(Courtesy of J.K. Rowling and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)

Leave a Reply

